The Hyatt Regency Buffalo

2 Fountain Plaza


Hours: VIP Access: 9:00am/General Public: 10:00 to 5:00 pm
Last admittance: 5:00 pm
Photography and filming allowed
Wheelchair accessible: Yes
Public restrooms: Yes

Offering: Guided tours; Birds-eye view

Visitor Experience: At the Hyatt Regency Buffalo, you have the opportunity to sign up for one of two 20 minute tours to experience some of what the hotel offers to its guests along with a glimpse into the history of the Genesee Building provided by a Hotel Manager. You will view our Lobby, Atrium with the original Genesee Building façade, technically advanced elevators with historic images of Western New York and our unique pool located on the eleventh floor with a stunning view of downtown Buffalo, New York.

Building Description: The Hyatt Regency Buffalo, formerly known as the Genesee building, has an extensive history in Buffalo. The lot was purchased in 1811 by James Chapin. The first structure to be erected on the lot was known as the Genesee House, which was constructed as a wood frame farmhouse and was used as a station for farmers and livestock on their way to the market.

In 1842, the Genesee House was replaced by a 5 story brick structure and remained named the Genesee House but was used as a hotel to house west-bound travelers. The new Genesee House remained until 1881 when it was torn down and replaced with the Genesee Hotel. The Genesee Hotel was a well-known fixture of Buffalo until 1922 when it was demolished to make way for the Genesee Building, a renaissance revival designed by Edward B. Green (Green & Wicks). The Genesee building opened as a modern steel frame office building in 1923 and featured brick and terra cotta on the upper floors and a copper roof, which remains part of its design today.

IN the 1980s, an 11 story tower and atrium was added to create the Hyatt Regency Buffalo. The cast-iron fronts of the Genesee building were retained and can still be seen from inside the atrium of the hotel.

Building Constructed: 1922 (current building)
Original architect: E.B. Green
Additional Architect: Gruzen & Partners
Architectural style: Renaissance Revival
Significant features: Brick, terra cotta, copper roof, cast iron
Past & Current owners: James Chapin, Norman Clement, Sheldon Weed, Leon Lawrence Sidell, Paul Snyder