Dun Building

110 Pearl St.


Hours: VIP Access: 9:00am/General Public: 10:00 am to 3:00 pm
Last admittance to building: 3:00 pm
Photography and Filming Allowed
Wheelchair Access: No
Public Restrooms: No

Offering: Self-Guided Tours

Visitor Experience: Visitors will tour the exterior and ground floor lobby of the Dun Building. They may choose to enjoy a snack or a meal at Sato Brewpub, a Japanese restaurant and microbrewery located in the lower level of the building. Alternatively, they may take a break in the pocket park at the rear of the building (corner of Delaware Avenue and Swan Street).

Building Description: The neoclassical Dun Building was constructed in the years 1894 to 1895 on the site of Buffalo’s first schoolhouse (1808), which was burned to the ground by the British in 1813. Designed by E.B. Green and William S. Wicks of the prolific Buffalo architecture firm, Green & Wicks, this ten-story, 27,000-square-foot building was Buffalo’s first high rise and first steel-framed skyscraper. Constructed of structural steel and yellow Roman brick, the tall narrow Dun building remains a distinctive element on Buffalo’s skyline to this day.

The building originally housed the R.G. Dun Company, a pioneer in the business of rating the credit of prospective borrowers. For decades, R.G.Dun issued a weekly report on business conditions that was read and respected by merchants and other businessmen of many countries. Ultimately, the R.G. Dun Company absorbed its rival firm and became known as Dun and Bradstreet.