651 Washington St.
Event Hours: 8:00am-11:30am and 1:00pm – 4:00pm
Last admittance: 3:45 pm
Photography and filming permitted, Tripod permitted.
Wheelchair access: Yes, Ellicott Street entrance.
Public restrooms: Yes
Please use hand sanitizers at doors before entry.
Offering: Self-guided tours
Visitor Experience: Visitors will enjoy the stained glass windows created by Meyer Co. in Munich as well as beautiful religious statuary. Self-guided tour brochure available.
Building Description: The exterior of the church was built from 1864 to 1867. Architects: P.C. Keely (New York City). Modern Roman Style. Buffalo limestone, Lockport limestone, red & white Albion sandstone. The interior was destroyed by fire in 1962. John D’Arcangelo redecorated the rebuilt interior, readying the church for worship in 1963 on the new Carrara marble altars. Work continued for several years to complete the task. Canisius H.S. and Canisius College both started at the parish in a building where the former post office now stands.