Foot of Main St.
Hours: VIP Access: 9:00 am/General Public: 10:00 am to 5:00 pm
Last Admittance: 4:30 pm
Photography and filming allowed
Wheelchair access: No
Public Restrooms: No
Offering: Guided tours every half hour beginning at 10:30am; Self-guided tours; Exhibits
Visitor Experience: Visitors will experience the DL&W terminal in its current state before it is transformed into a Metro Rail Station and potentially redeveloped. Visitors will learn about the history of the building and hear of the plans to transform this underutilized waterfront property into a waterfront destination.
Building Description: DL&W is a magnificent example of early 20th century architecture, constructed to handle steam locomotives on both its first and second floors. The strength required for that mission is reflected in every aspect of its construction. It sits at the edge of Canalside, overlooking the Buffalo River, and has been the home of Metro Rail since the 1980s.
The Delaware, Lackawanna and Western (DL&W) railroad terminal was built in 1917. It was commissioned by the PA Railroad Co. and designed by Kenneth M. Murchison. The terminal was built to accommodate both freight and passenger rail. The steel and concrete design was seen as an economical alternative to glass train sheds. The rail line itself connected Buffalo to Hoboken, NJ and primarily transferred coal to the then new Bethlehem Steel plant. Rail service was discontinued in 1963.
In the mid 1970s, NFTA purchased DL&W for Metro Rail construction. The passenger terminal at the foot of Main Street was demolished. DL&W has served as the Yard and Shops facility for Metro rail since 1985. Currently, the 150,000 square foot facility is gaining interest as a site for new development and the continuation of Buffalo’s downtown renaissance.