121 Ellicott St.
Hours: VIP Access: 9:00am/General Public: 10:00 am to 5:00 pm
Last Admittance: 4:45 pm
Photography and filming allowed.
Wheelchair access: Yes – Swan St. entrance
Public Restrooms: Yes
Offering: Guided tours; self-guided tours
Visitor Experience: Visitors to SUNY Erie Community College’s City Campus will experience the grandeur of the Old Post Office and federal office building which dates from 1901. Guests will view an impressive granite tower decorated with eagles and gargoyles, in addition to the largest skylight in the City of Buffalo. Guides will offer tours of the building at the top of the hour from 9AM for VIP Passholders and 10AM-4PM for the general public. A map and brochure of the building will also be available for self-guided tours.
Building Description: The building was constructed to house a Post Office and federal offices in 1901. The architect of record is James Knox Taylor who oversaw the project to its conclusion. It served as Buffalo’s main Post Office and federal building until the 1960s & 70s when modern buildings on William Street and Delaware Avenue respectively replaced these functions. The building was largely abandoned and neglected for more than a decade when Erie County legislators Minnie Gillette and Joan Bozer fought to save the building and convert it to the City Campus of SUNY Erie. The Old Post Office was listed on the National Register of Historic Places in 1972 and the City Campus opened here in 1982. The building continues to function well in its adapted function as a college campus today.