50 Franklin Street
Hours: VIP Access: 9:00am/General Public: 10:00 am to 5:00 pm
Last admittance: 4:45 pm
Photography and filming allowed
Wheelchair access: No
Public restrooms: No
Offering: Guided tours; Exhibits
Note: Due to two weddings in the Cathedral on June 15, only the rectory and not the church will be open for touring.
Visitor Experience: View the front first floor rooms of the rectory and the portrait gallery of all bishops.
Building Description: Construction of the rectory was completed in 1855 by architect Patrick Keely. It was built under the direction of the Buffalo Diocese’s first bishop, John Timon. The gothic design features exterior limestone from Lockport. The interior includes marble fireplaces, original woodwork and John Timon’s cathedra (bishop’s chair).